Hair today, gone tomorrow.

I have had, more or less, the same haircut for about 10 years. Shoulderlength, middle part, no bangs.

Until a few months ago (Well, in the spring) when I got some totally cute sideswept bangs:

Now, most people say I’m lucky, that I have really pretty hair. It’s ridiculously think, and people say that’s awesome too. Well, I’m here to tell you, it’s not. I am sick and tired of my hair. Inevitably, I go to the hairdresser, and they see my dilemma and chop and thin my hair out, but it’s so bloomin thick that in a month, it’s horrible again.

At home I’d finally found a stylist to do my hair (she’s the one who did the bangs) and that lasted for quite awhile. I went to one here in England, shortly after I arrived, to trim and thin out and get the bangs back but she didn’t really do a great job. *sigh*

It’s at the length now where it just…..lies there. Blech. It’s ridiculously thick and a pain to brush. My bangs are so long they no longer do the cute side sweep thing and now I’m back to just a middle part. with short bits on the side.

*headdesk.*

I know in the grand scheme of things, this is a minor problem. BUT let me tell you how disheartening it is to get a haircut and in a month, to be back to hating it because it’s just so thick and unmanageable.

I am also a wuss. I am too afraid to do something drastic because I think “Oh, god, what if I hate it and look horrible?” My instructions to the hairdresser are always the same: no straight bangs, leave enough to pull back into a ponytail.”

Well, let me tell you, it’s obviously not working anymore and I can’t bloomin’ take it. I have an appointment at 11:30 tomorrow and I am seriously considering going in there and letting her do whatever the heck she wants.

Any suggestions?

(P.S) if it looks horrid, don’t expect pics for awhile. :p

EDIT:

It’s settled. I want hair like this:

That is exactly the length I want. I told the girl who did my hair last time to go chin length and she didn’t. Tomorrow I shall sit in that chair until she does it!!!!!!

 

And maybe one day, in a parallel universe, I could have hair like this:

Can we all just agree that Mariska Hargitay must be an alien, or something?  She’s too ding dang pretty.

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Hair today, gone tomorrow.

  1. inverted bob? That could look really cute! And it would take a while to grow back…Not quite long enough for a ponytail, though.

  2. I feel the same way! My hair is suuuper thick and gets weird when it reaches a certain length. I recently did a chop and brought in a picture of Jenny McCarthy – graduated bob with lots of layers. It’s been working pretty well for me so far!

    • That’s good to hear!

      I’m printing out a photo today and taking it in. It’s going to be chin length or maybe a teensy bit longer. I am not putting up with this anymore.

  3. Hi Kristen,

    I just saw your comment on my blog, Not Like the Picture – thank you! I hope you’re enjoying your time in the UK, and if you do make it to Manchester, you’ll have to let me know!

    Looking forward to seeing the new haircut 😉

    Ellie

Leave a Reply

