Wait….what?

So, Gawker is my website obsession du jour. Today, while I should have been reading for class, or working on a first draft of a paper, or running, or doing a million other more productive things, I was browsing Gawker. And I come across this article:

“Dance Critic Thinks Ballerina is Too Fat.”

And in my head, I’m like, “You’re kidding me, no?” Surely this article must not contain what it leads me to believe it contains. So I click the link. And sure enough, this new york times columnist says that Ballerina Jenifer Ringer “looked as if she’d eaten one sugar plum too many.”

Really? I hope everyone clicks that link and checks out the pictures. And also reads the tidbit where an interview with Working Mother magazine is discussed. Jenifer has a history of eating disorders (anorexia and binge eating).

My question is this: Why is this even remotely OK? Does this man not see something wrong with calling a ballerina, who has previously battled eating disorders, fat? Really?

To be fair, I am not a dancer. I know nothing about dancing. I do know, however, that the woman in those photographs is gorgeous and I can assume she’s talented if she’s dancing in the New York Ballet’s The Nutcracker.

Not cool, New York Times. Not cool.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Wait….what?

  1. Write a letter to the Times! I did: letters@nytimes.com

  2. I read this article too. I thought this quote summed it up…”
    apparently the New York Times is looking at her with the eyes that make ballerinas hate their bodies.”

    Since when did the New York Times become Perez Hilton?!

  3. There’s a new movie coming out about ballerinas called Black Swan with Natalie Portman and Mila Kunis. Apparently Natalie Portman had to drop 20 lbs for the role. 20!! And she’s small to begin with!

  4. Maybe instead of forcing ballerina’s to be small so the males can lift them we can make the males lift some weights? Seriously, though, I went to college with a lot of dancers and there was always someone disappearing to go into an ED facility. It was horribly sad and so many of them came back and relapsed or realized they would never be ballerina’s because they couldn’t be that small and be healthy.

    • Morgan, not knowing many (any, really) dancers, I just don’t have any personal insight, reallyy, but what you say is so sad! It’s a horrible thought to be told you can’t do what you love because you physically can’t meet the (ridiculous and unhealthy?) requirements. As I said, I have zero personal insight here, but…..if the physical requirements are that…strict?…it doesn’t seem many women could meet them healthily. I could be wrong though.

Leave a Reply

