Of course I’m not too old for Boy Bands.

Today I saw an advertisement that almost made me pee my pants in excitement.

That’s right folks. New Kids on the Block and the Backstreet Boys. Touring. Together.

Some might say, “But, Kristen, you’re (almost) 27 years old. Aren’t you a little old for boy bands?”

And in response to this I’d snort and laugh.

Um. Noooooo. I am most definitely not, my friends.

New Kids on the Block were on their way down when I started liking them.Β  I remember going to visit my cousin who had all sorts of awesome NKOTB merchandise I was insanely jealous of. Her favourite was Joey. Mine was Jordan. (Still is).

They disappeared for a bit, and then in 1995, I bought (ok, mom bought) a teen beat magazine and who did I see in it but the Backstreet Boys, a new boy band that was popular in Europe. My little 12-year-old eyes zeroed right in on one Mr. Nick Carter and I was DONE. I waited impatiently for them to make it big in the States. I clipped every article in my tween mags. I saved every poster. I watched MTV religiously, waiting to see the music video.

One day, it happened. Quit Playin’ Games (With My Heart) was played on MTV. I screamed like a banshee and ran around the room like my undies were on fire.

They’d been releasing albums all over the world, but not in the U.S. My grandma and grandpa were traveling all over the place after retirement, and when they asked me what I wanted from (insert country here) I begged them to look for BSB CD’s. Which they did. My awesome grandparents took time out of their holidays in Australia, Canada, and I think some European country, to go into a CD store and find me BSB CDs.

Finally. 1997. Summer. BSB plans to release their first album in the States. They have an event at the Virgin MegaStore in Times Square. I BEG my father to take me. He enlists grandpa’s help. Haley comes, and dad and I and she go to New Jersey, where grandpa leads us, via new jersey transit, into the city. We sit on the pavement for houuuuuurs while dad and grandpa mill around, killing time. (How lucky was I, by the way, to have family who would do that for me?) We see the Backstreet Boys. I probably cried a little bit. We bought the CDs and went home. It was absolutely magical, I tell you. Magical. (I still maintain to this day that Nick Carter made eye contact).

They begin to get big in the states, and I get tickets with some friends to see them in Constitution Hall in DC.

We are waiting outside and there are huge windows there. I look over, see Nick Carter walking down the hall, and fall. out. Seriously. I’m lucky I didn’t faint. I did, however, fall to the ground, crouch into a ball, and cry. Not my finest moment, but hey. We can’t all be together 100% of the time right? πŸ™‚ And in my defense, I was, like….12.

They get bigger and tour more. A summer later, I am not content with one concert per tour. Oh no, my friends. That summer, I went to 4 or 5 BSB shows. My mom drove me to UPSTATE NEW YORK (from Maryland) to go see the Backstreet Boys.

(I’m getting the impression that I should stop now and apologize to every member of my family that got sucked into this insanity….which is basically all of them….I should also thank them for not having me committed.)

This went on for awhile until the Boy Band craze died down. My love for BSB, however, did not die down.

I like to think I’m a much more mellow BSBer these days. The last time I saw them in concert was a few years ago, and I haven’t cried over Nick Carter since, well…since I wigged out at Constitution Hall. That’s personal growth, no?

I do believe though that were I to randomly run into them on the street, I would freak. I think they’re the only celebrities I can say that about. I’d wig the heck out.

As for NKOTB, I was so excited when they came back a few years ago, andΒ  “Step By Step” remains one of my fave songs OF ALL TIME! And why wouldn’t it be? It’s AWESOME.

Evidence:

See? Awesome.

Some of you might also ask what the BF thinks of this. Well, he kinda of just shakes his head and laughs. Lucky for me he finds my obsession with the Backstreet Boys amusing. πŸ˜€ (we’ll see how he feels when I buy TWO tickets to this awesome show and drag him along)

So, I’ll see YOU at the best. comeback. tour. EVER! (click the link. See? Even TIME magazine thinks it could be epic).

And now, I shall leave you with my forever-schoolgirl-crush and his bandmates:

 

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Of course I’m not too old for Boy Bands.

  1. OMG! I’m sooo excited about this, too!!! Ans I’m not even ashamed to admit it πŸ˜›

  2. I thought it was some unspoken rule that you could only like NKOTB or BB! πŸ˜‰ I was always a NKOTB fan and saw them in concert on this most recent tour. A-maz-ing! They did a great job!

    Seriously…I’m still obsessed with Joe in a slightly creepy way!

  3. One is never to old for Boy Bands!! I would have almost peed myself too if I had seen this lol. Nothing was better then the good old Backstreet Boy days!!! Ahhh Memories lol.

  4. Haley

    LOL – And how lucky was I that you have such an awesome family that they would let me tag along with you to New York. That’s STILL one of my all-time favorite memories!!
    And Nick DEFINITELY made eye contact with you. He even winked, didn’t he? :p
    AndI have YOU to thank for MY BSB addiction…which we then passed on to Mathew!
    P.S. Did you know that Mathew *still* have *multiple* BSB posters on his ceiling in his bedroom at home πŸ˜€

    I wish WE could go tot he concert together!!

    • And this is why I ❀ Mathew too. he knows what's up.

      I WISH WE COULD TOO!

      If they come to Europe you should totally fly over for the weekend. Cause, you know. You can do stuff like that :p You'll be such a rockstar – flying in for the concert and out the next day. Too cool for school.

      The picture you sent me of Nick is hanging proudly on my bulletin board. Much to the boyfriend's dismay.

    • and yes eye contact was definitely made. It was a defining moment in my life, really. :p i still love that fool.

  5. Haley

    Aww… it won’t let me edit my grammatical errors. Do you know how much that irks me??? :p

Leave a Reply

